Sunday Dec 3 The Jazzlab 

SPIRE - Stand By Your Woman concert Melbourne Arts Centre - photo Andrius Lipsys

SPIRE - Stand By Your Woman concert Melbourne Arts Centre - photo Andrius Lipsys


SUNDAY DEC 3 The Jazzlab

Doors 7pm Show 8pm $25/20 tickets here

Introducing SPIRE ensemble, a collective of Melbourne instrumentalists who are all women.

For one night only, SPIRE will present a program of all original contemporary jazz works composed and performed by nine of Melbourne’s most talented and versatile players. These works will be performed as part of the Melbourne Women’s International Jazz Festival as Jazz Lab.

Xani Kolac (violin)
Kathleen Halloran (guitar)
Claire Cross (bass)
Lena Douglas (keys)
Maria Moles (drums)
Savannah Blount (tenor saxophone)
Cheryl Durongpisitkul (alto saxophone)
Ellie Lamb (trombone)
Charlie Woods (trumpet)

This performance will be mesmerising, virtuosic, and will present the collaboration of individual voices influenced by myriad of different musical styles and experiences.

SPIRE was formed by Xani Kolac in May 2017 debuting at the Arts Centre’s Hamer Hall featuring artists such as Kate Ceberano, Kate Miller-Heidke, Tex Perkins, Harry Angus, Tim Rogers, Jen Cloher, Davey lane, Fraser A. Gorman and Steve Kilbey. SPIRE also closed this year’s Live N’ Local Festival in St Kilda with Thando, Benny Walker, The Meltdown’s Simon Burke, Jess Ribeiro and Joshua Tavares. SPIRE is now an artist-run collective whereby each artist contributes arrangements and compositions for unique performances.

SPIRE: Sound + Performances Inspiring Recognition and Equality.


Second set - Girls Do Jazz

 Girls Do Jazz is a jazz band comprised of current Jazz & Improvisation students at the Victorian College of the Arts.

The ensemble is led by Andrea Keller, Lecturer in Jazz & Improvisation at the VCA/MCM. From varied musical backgrounds, the members of Girls Do Jazz unite in celebration of female musicianship, with an emphasis on Australian contemporary jazz repertoire.

 Bella Winter - alto saxophone

Kathleen Halloran - guitar

Alex Rindfleish - piano

Robbie Finch - double bass

Alex Czarnecki-Roper - drums.